List of Churches for Visita Iglesia in La Union

24 March 2022
List of Churches for Visita Iglesia in La Union

In the Lenten Season, Roman Catholics participate in a practice known as Visita Iglesia, which is the Spanish word or phrase meaning church visits. At this time, Roman Catholic devotees in the Philippines visit seven Christian places of worship. Traditionally, it's done on Maundy Thursday, although nowadays it may be done on any day of Holy Week, including Friday.


The following is a list of some of the places of worship that can be found in the Province of La Union. With the exception of Basilica of Our Lady of Charity and St. Catherine of Alexandria Parish, all these particular congregations are really quite accessible and convenient to visit. The first two churches on the other hand are also included in this list because of their prominence among the churches in La Union.


Saint Christopher Parish (Bangar)

Baroque and Neoclassical elements coexist harmoniously in this church. The building's exterior is adorned with Baroque, Gothic, and Moorish elements. Lancet-arched gateway, choir loft windows, Renaissance scallops, and Moorish bell towers on the facade and pediment all exhibit Gothic, Renaissance, and Moorish elements, respectively. There are only three bell towers in this church, which is the only one in Northern Luzon and probably in the Philippines.


The ceiling was repaired in 2003, and new murals were painted on the walls and ceilings alike.


Saint Christopher Parish can be found at 2519 Bangar, La Union.


St. Michael the Archangel Church (Bacnotan)

Roman Catholic Diocese of San Fernando de La Union is responsible for the administration of Bacnotan Church, commonly known as the Saint Michael the Archangel Parish Church in Bacnotan, La Union in the Philippines. It was given its name in honor of Saint Michael the Archangel.


Baroque and neoclassical elements coexist harmoniously on the church's exterior. As well as congested columns, rectangular and vertical motions in the style of neoclassical architecture, it boasts an enormous bell tower on the front of the building. These rectangular bricks are stacked one on top of the other to form the church's exterior. Inscriptions dated November 20, 1874, may be seen on an antique bell that can be located on the church grounds.


St. Michael the Archangel Church can be found at St. Michael the Archangel Church Grounds, Bacnotan, La Union.


Saint Catherine of Alexandria Parish (Luna)

The town of Luna's patron saint is St. Catherine of Alexandria or Luna Church, although the church itself is well-known for housing the shrine to Our Lady of Namacpacán. The town's original name was Namacpacan, which means "one who feeds" in the Ilocano language. An elderly lady is claimed to have come to the indigenous inhabitants of the Cordilleras and provided them with food, according to legend.


Our Lady Apo Baket of Namacpacan was the moniker given to her later on, by the locals. They address the old lady respectfully as Apo Baket. Back while the Galleon Trade was still going on, the major narrative of how the picture of Our Lady Apo Baket of Namacpacan ended up on Luna and became a miraculous figure. In the year 1871, an Augustinian priest requested a picture of the Virgin Mary from Spain to be delivered to the Immaculate Conception Seminary in Vigan, Ilocos Sur.


They believed that Namacpacan had been selected by the Blessed Virgin Mary as her safe sanctuary.


The Church of the Miraculous Virgin Mary is located at Namacpacan Road, Luna, 2518 La Union.


Saints Peter and Paul Parish (Bauang)

This church is one of the country's oldest and most historic. The Augustinian missionaries began building the chapel in 1850 and completed its canonization on April 25, 1587. Restoration of the church and convent occurred in 1895 after the earthquake of 1892, but the monastery was demolished in 1955. The convent was eventually rebuilt, and now stands the Sacred Heart School in its stead.


Saints Peter and Paul Parish is located at Naguilian Road, Bauang, La Union.


Minor Basilica of Our Lady of Charity (Agoo)

Agoo, La Union, is home to the Basilica Minore of Our Lady of Charity. In the first church, there is no resemblance to how the current one appears now. In 1578, it was constructed from nipa and bamboo. In 1892, a devastating earthquake destroyed the building, which was rebuilt in 1893 but subsequently demolished and replaced.


When work started on the new church in 1975, it was completed in 1978. It was designated a Marian Shrine on December 8, 1978. On July 15, 1982, Pope John Paul II issued a papal bull elevating it to Minor Basilica. Agoo Basilica came in sixth place among the Philippines' 12 minor basilicas.


The Basilica is located at Poblacion, Agoo, La Union.


Saint John the Baptist Church (San Juan)

At La Union's municipality of San Juan, there is a church dedicated to St. John Baptist. The Roman Catholic Diocese of San Fernando de La Union has authority over the area. The Church dates back more than three centuries, making it one of the province's most historic landmarks. La Union's first Filipino parish priest is Rev. Fr. Mariano Gaerlan, one of the so-called "NINE CLERICS" who fought for the freedom of the Philippines, according to the government website.


This one of the seven Christian sites is lcoated at MacArthur Hwy, San Juan, La Union.


St. William the Hermit Cathedral (San Fernando City)

La Union's Roman Catholic Diocese is headquartered at San Fernando Cathedral, better known as Cathedral of St. William the Hermit. Once located in what is now called Pindangan, St. William the Hermit Church was once located in what is now known as Barrio San Vicente. A Catholic missionary, Padre Jose Torres, persuaded the two communities to merge into Pindangan (which means dry fish) in 1759. St. William the Hermit is the patron saint of the church erected by him and the locals.


After visiting these churches, don't forget to buy and try some local delis from La Union such as their famous Halo-Halo de Iloko, Kilawen, and their Filipino inspired Flavored Ice Cream.


You can also easily visit the different churches and tourist spots in La Union because of the existing Tarlac Pangasinan La Union Expressway or TPLEX. This 89.31-kilometer expressway cuts off the travel time of tourists from Manila by approximately 50%.


This means that living in this part of the province is also much more convenient and accessible. You can now have easier access to the metro while enjoying a more peaceful community in the province through Lumina San Juan!


Learn more about Lumina San Juan today!

Recommended Properties

Lumina Batangas


Brgy. San Vicente, Sto. Tomas City, Batangas

Lumina Malaybalay


Barangay Casisang Diversion Road, Malaybalay City, Bukidnon

Lumina Camarines Norte


Brgy. Cabanbanan, San Vicente, Camarines Norte

Lumina Tanauan


Brgy. Hidalgo, Tanauan City, Batangas

Lumina Rosario


Brgy. Quilib Rosario, Batangas

Lumina Tanza


Brgy. Bagtas, Tanza Cavite

Lumina Bacolod


Brgy. Vista Alegre, Bacolod City, Negros Occidental

Lumina Plaridel


Brgy. Culianin, Plaridel, Bulacan

Lumina Manaoag


Brgy. Sapang, Manaoag, Pangasinan

Lumina Quezon


Brgy. Isabang, Tayabas, Quezon

Lumina Baliwag


Brgy. Pagala, Baliwag, Bulacan

Lumina Cabanatuan


Brgy. Valle Cruz, Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija

What's New

calculator Try our Home Loan Calculator
Loan Calculator

Try Lumina Homes' loan calculator and get an estimate computation for your preferred Lumina property and home model.

Monthly Amortization



Disclaimer: All computation appearing herein are sample computation only and are not official.
First Name
Last Name
Email Address